Happy New Year!

New year, new beginnings.. This post is long overdue now which is why I really need to publish this rather short  post.

We originally planned to go to Fushimi Inari Shrine and straight to Todaiji Temple after but ended up not going to Todaiji for it would be a long ride and long walk. Around lunch time we headed to Fushimi Inari Shrine. It was only a train ride from Temmabashi via the Keihan Line. We got off at the Fushimi Inari Station and walked for a few minutes.

View at the Keihan Line platform in Kyoto

You will be welcomed by this orange tori gate. You’ll definitely see a lot of orange here. I am not sure the reason behind the color and coming to think of it I need to do a google search.

We had lunch first before walking to the shrine. We had ramen coz basically that’s all most of the restaurants have there. I had a Tempura and fish soba noodles ramen with Inari sushi. The taste isn’t something worth mentioning but I really like the quality of the noodles. For the sushi, it taste a bit weird for it feels like I am eating spoiled rice because it is sour. Oh and this set meal cost me 1080 yen.

After lunch, we set ourselves to walk to the Inari shrine. There’s no entrance fee inside the shrine which made it more a worth going to place in Kyoto. The gates of the shrine is magnificent in orange guarded by foxes which I think serves as messenger to the Gods for them. The shrine has about 10,000 orange tori gates lined up across the hill. It’s a bit of a long walk up to the top which I haven’t had the chance to go up to. But they said and I saw from pictures that it is worth going to. This made me think that I really have to go back there too around November or April (I really have to).

The shrine was made famous from the 2005 film Memoirs of a Geisha when young Chiyo was running in happiness. I actually made a re-enactment of that scene but without sporting a kimono. Haha. At the shrine you’ll also find a lot of wishing wall. It’s actually fun to look at the creativity of people wishing and their wishes written. 😉

Around early in the afternoon, we decided to head back to Osaka and spent the rest of the day shopping at Keihan City Mall and resting.

Last day in Japan.

Our check-out at the hotel was around 11pm. Fortunately, the hotel allows us to leave our luggage there which gave us time to go wherever we want and spent the rest of the day until we leave for the airport. I had an early walk at the Osaka Castle around 9am. There were a lot of people who were up early and doing their morning walk and jog around the castle. I think the castle grounds is a pretty good place to have your morning exercise. I really wish that I live near the castle. The place was perfect for me.

It was the 400th years anniversary of the Toyotomi and Tokugawa war when we visited so the entrance fee at the castle was reduced to 400 yen only. The castle was built under the rule of Toyotomi Hideyoshi and then fell from the Tokugawa clan. Destroyed by lightning fire, reconstructed and destroyed again from Meiji restoration period. After the WWII bombing, it was reconstructed to what it is today. I really got curious about the history of this castle and if you look at the whole map of the castle, it is quite interesting. There were really security features at the whole architecture of the place which made me think of how they were so intricate and careful at the things that they do. It was really beautiful even from our hotel room I can witness its magnificence.

Osaka CastleAs mentioned from my previous post, I have already visited the castle at night which made it the second time for me to visit it. I didn’t get the chance to go to the castle garden (I need to go back again). After the walk around the castle, I went back to the hotel and we spent the rest of the day drinking green tea at an Italian coffee shop across our hotel. I really enjoyed the cool breeze of Japan outside the cafe and reflect about our week trip in Osaka and Kyoto. It was a nice experience that I won’t ever forget and made me want to travel more.

3 thoughts on “Last 2 days in Japan : Fushimi Inari Shrine – Keihan City Mall & Osaka Castle

Leave a Reply

